Department Leadership

DOM leadership 2024.

The Department of Medicine, led by Chair Robert Wachter and the Chair’s Council, is the largest department in the UCSF School of Medicine. The mission of the Department is research (basic and clinical), teaching, patient care, and public service. The Department has a decentralized organizational structure across four sites (Parnassus, ZSFG, SFVAHCS, and Mt. Zion) and 41 divisions housing faculty, non-faculty academics, residents/fellows, post-docs, and staff. Authority and accountability for the Department rest with the chair who heads the Parnassus and Mt. Zion sites and also directs the vice chairs at the ZSFG and SFVAHCS sites.

 Site Leadership


SFVAHCS Main Number 415-221-4810

Name Email Phone
Kenneth McQuaid, MD
Vice Chair of Medicine 
Chief of Medical Service
[email protected] 415-221-4810
x 22610
Maxine Davis
Director of Administration UCSF/SFVA
[email protected]  
Josue Zapata, MD
Associate Chief, Medical Service  
j[email protected]  415-221-4810
x 22643

Heather Nye, MD, PhD
Assistant Chief, Medical Service  

[email protected] 415-221-4810
x 23287
Susan Wlodarczyk, MD
Assistant Chief, Medical Service  
[email protected] 415-221-4810
x 25281
Ben Davoren, MD, PhD
Associate Chief of Staff for Clinical Informatics
[email protected] 415-221-4810
x 23424