The UCSF Department of Medicine is committed to our faculty members’ and trainees’ success. We provide research support programs and internal grants to aid in career development, spark new research projects, and foster community.



Programs & Initiatives

Internal Awards

Research Community

Meet the Team

Associate Chairs for Research

David Erle, MD is the DOM Associate Chair for Biomedical Research and a Professor of Medicine in the Lung Biology Center at ZSFG. In his Associate Chair role, he supports the department’s research enterprise by advocating for its faculty members and implementing new initiatives as well as stewarding its wet lab space. As a member of the Parnassus Research Programming Task Force, he represents the department and the new CoLabs initiative.

Diane Havlir, MD is the DOM Associate Chair for Clinical Research and a Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of HIV, ID, and Global Medicine at ZSFG. In her role as Associate Chair, she is focused on improving the clinical trials infrastructure and improving researchers’ experience and retention in the department. She is actively involved in the development and planning for the new Research building at ZSFG.


Alyssa Tecklenburg is the Associate Director of Strategic Initiatives in the Department of Medicine, who works with the Associate Chairs for Research, operationalizing initiatives to support the research enterprise, managing IT, and facilities projects, and overseeing the Department’s space portfolio. She is also a co-founder the Women in Technology @ UCSF group and helps lead the programming and strategy. 

DOM Central Research Administration
The Research Administration Unit of the Department of Medicine supports 39 academic divisions by partnering with faculty, university administration, sponsors, and internal and external collaborators to:

  • Contribute to proposal strategies to maintain stature as the highest NIH-funded department of medicine
  • Act as responsible stewards of research funds
  • Provide high quality customer service to our research community

Read more about Research Administration